Student clubs active in 2017-2018

Calvin Tan, Engineering Club PresidentPictured: MC Engineering Club president Calvin Tan at the annual Club Rush event. (Photo by James Schaap.)

Moorpark College has almost 50 active student organizations! These formally recognized clubs provide students with opportunities to engage with classmates, apply classroom concepts or principles to real-life situations, and undergo personal growth. Participating students gain valuable leadership experience while developing social and professional relationships. Scroll down to learn about the clubs that are active during our current academic year, or check out the November student organization meeting calendar to see when you can join along in the fun.
 

Don't see a club that suits your academic, cultural, or personal interests? Then check out our Student organizations page to learn how to start your own club!

Name of student club

Who to contact to learn more

American Association of University Women
Open to all interested Moorpark College students
 
President: Kaylee Slingluff (kaylee_slingluff1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Deanna Franke (dfranke@vcccd.edu)
 
America's Teaching Zoo, Student Ch. of AAZK
Open to EATM students and all interested in the zoo
 
President: Victoria Fosdick (victoria_fosdick1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Kris Romero (kromero@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Alisa Behar (alisa_behar@vcccd.edu)
Armenian Club
Open to all interested students
 
President: Vicken Kejejian (vicken_kejejian1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Vahe Khachadoorian (vkhachadoorian@vcccd.edu)
 
Art Club
Open to all students interested in art and sharing art
 
President: Michael Hellard (michael_hellard1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Clare Sadnik (csadnik@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Lydia Etman (letman@vcccd.edu)
Black Student Union (BSU)
Open to all interested Moorpark College students
 
President: Je'nyce Johnson (jenyce_johnson1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Tim Lumas (twlumas@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Johnny Conley (jconley@vcccd.edu)
Business Students Association
Open to MC students interested in business
 
President: Alec Aivazian (alec_aivazian1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Perry Martin, Jr. (pmartin@vcccd.edu)
 
Chemistry Club
Open to all students interested in learning chemistry
 
President: Erika Szaldobagyi (erika_szaldobagyil1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Deanna Franke (dfranke@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Steven Joiner (csjoiner@vcccd.edu)
College Democrats
Students interested in democratic principles welcome
 
President: Andrew Lopez (andrew_lopez16@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Jerry Mansfield (jmansfield@vcccd.edu)
 
Cookies for Kids' Cancer
Open to all interested students
 
President: Jay Madhok (jay_madhok1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Jerry Mansfield (jmansfield@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Thanh Trinh (ttrinh@vcccd.edu)
Criminal Justice/Bujinkan Club
All interested in martial arts & criminal justice can join
 
President: Angel Salgado (angel_salgado1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Chad Basile (cbasile@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Leeann Mulville (lmulville@vcccd.edu)
Dance Club
Open to students interested in dance performance
 
President: Miel Lei Apostol (miellei_apostol1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Beth Megill (bmegill@vcccd.edu)
 
Dub Club
Open to students interested in voice-overs
 
President: Philip Jones (philip_jones2@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Peggy O'Neal (poneal@vcccd.edu)
 
Dynamix
A Capella enthusiasts can audition for Dynamix
 
President: Zechariah Beeker (zechariah_beeker1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Brandon Elliot (belliot@vcccd.edu)
 
Engineering Club
Open to students interested in Engineering
 
President: Calvin Tan (calvin_tan1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Scarlet Relle (scarlet_relle1@vcccd.edu)
 
Enthusiastic Programmers
All interested in computer programming welcome!
 
President: Alex Littaua (steven_littaua1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Esmaail Nikjeh (enikjeh@vcccd.edu)
 
Feminism Today!
Open to all interested students
 
President: Hadar Amran (hadar_amran1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Melanie Klein (mklein1@vcccd.edu)
 
Film Club
Open to those interested in film + media production
 
Pres.: Lorenzo Francisco (lorenzo_francisco1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Nicole Block (nblock@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Benjamin Sampson (bsampson@vcccd.edu)
FLeX Club
Open to all interested in fitness, nutrition, and health
 
President: Oren Robles (orencio_robles2@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Jeff Kreil (jkreil@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Brock Cushman (tcushman@vcccd.edu)
French Cultural Club
Open to students enrolled in French classes
 
President: Jennifer Naud (jennifer_naud1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Adriana Tufenkjian (atufenkjian@vcccd.edu)
 
Future Animal Professionals
Open to students enrolled in EATM program
 
President: Tim Camerano (timothy_camerano1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Kris Romero (kromero@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Chuck Brinkman (cbrinkman@vcccd.edu)
Future Radiologic Technologists
Open to Radiology program enrollees
 
President: Rebecca Reed (rebecca_reed1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Robert Darwin (rdarwin@vcccd.edu)
 
History Association
Open to History majors or those interested in history
 
President: Michelle Aclan (michelle_aclan1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Nenagh Brown (nbrown@vcccd.edu)
 
Honors Club
Open to students interested in honors courses
 
President: Josh Vicente (joshua_vicente1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Lee Ballestero (lballestero@vcccd.edu)
 
International Student Org. (Facebook page)
Open to all students interested in other cultures
 
President: Chloe (chloe_demosthenous1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Beth Gillis-Smith (egillissmith@vcccd.edu)
 
Intervarsity Christian Fellowship
Open to students interested in the Christian faith
 
President: Chey Quijada (cheyenne_quijada1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Beth Gillis-Smith (egillissmith@vcccd.edu)
 
La Raza (formerly Latino Students Association)
Open to all interested students
 
President: Samuel Flores (samflores34sf@gmail.com)
Advisor: Jaime Soto (jaime_soto2@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Hugo Hernandez (hhernandez@vcccd.edu)
Latter Day Saints Student Association
Open to all those interested in joining
 
Pres.: Henry Van Slooten (henry_vanslooten1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Joelle Hannah (jhannah@vcccd.edu)
 
Law Club
Open to any student interested in law
 
President: Leah Sankey (leah_sankey1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Chad Basile (cbasile@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Luis P. Sanchez (lsanchez@vcccd.edu)
Math Club
Open to all MC students interested in math
 
Pres.: Sandy Capotosto (alessandra_capotost1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: David Mayorga (dmayorga@vcccd.edu)
 
Mock Trial Club
Open to those interested in oral argumentation
 
President: Callie Hoffmann (calliehoffmann54@gmail.com)
Advisor: Lee Ballestero (lballestero@vcccd.edu)
 
MC Anthropological Association
Open to all students interested in anthropology
 
President: David Teichman (david_teichman1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Rachel Messinger (rmessinger@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Ashley Vaughan (avaughan@vcccd.edu)
Music Band Club Extravaganza
All interested in jamming welcome!
 
President: Nicholas Burch (nicholas_burch1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Jeremy Kaye (jkaye@vcccd.edu)
 
Muslim Students Association
Open to all MC students
 
President: Faizan Anwar (faizan_anwar1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Allam Elhussini (aelhussini@vcccd.edu)
 
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
Open to all interested students
 
President: (unknown)
Advisor: Diane Scrofano (dscrofano@vcccd.edu)
 
Nature's Finest (visit website or Facebook page)
Nature and gardening enthusiasts welcomed
 
Pres.: Nick Boomhower (nicolas_boomhower1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Martha Ahlstrom (mahlstrom@vcccd.edu)
 
Outdoor Adventures
Open to students interested in outdoor activities
 
President: Chad Weireter (chad_weireter1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Brian Swartz (brian_swartz@vcccd.edu)
 
Peer Health Club
All students interested in healthy lifestyles welcome
 
Pres.: Shakeh Nalbandian (shakeh_nalbandian1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Lisa Noack (lnoack@vcccd.edu)
 
Philosophy Club
Open to all students interested in philosophy
 
Pres.: Patrick Gordon-Davis (patrick_gordondavis1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Jerry Caplan (jcaplan@vcccd.edu)
 
Phi Theta Kappa
Admission by invitation based on academic reqs.
 
President: Nima Golshani (nima_golshani1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Lee Ballestero (lballestero@vcccd.edu)
 
Psychology Club
Open to all students interested in psychology
 
President: Danielle Baker (danielle_baker2@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Julie Campbell (jcampbell@vcccd.edu)
 
Raider Cheer Squad
Open to students interested in cheerleading
 
Captain: Summer Fitch (summer_fitch1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Kelsey Stuart
 
RAINN/NO MORE
Increasing awareness of domestic violence victims
 
President: Jade Barth (jade_barth1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Kari A. Meyers (kmeyers@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Chad Basile (cbasile@vcccd.edu)
Rebels Without A Clause
On-campus book club, welcoming of all students
 
President: Katherine Guthrie (katherine_guthrie1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Carol Cellucci
 
S.P.A.C.E. Club
Open to those interested in physics + astronomy
 
Pres.: Javier Berjon (javier_berjondelapa1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Erik Reese (ereese@vcccd.edu)
 
Spectrum Club
Open to all interested in supporting LGBTQ students
 
Pres.: Holden Streetly (holden_streetly1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Sally Ponce O'Rourke (sponce_orourke@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Raquel Olivera (r_olivera@vcccd.edu)
Student Nurses Association
Open to all MC Nursing Program students
 
President: Jennifer Lasalle (jennifer_lasalle2@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Argie Clifford (aclifford@vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Olga Myshina (omyshina@vcccd.edu)
Vegan Club
All interested in learning about veganism are welcome
 
President: Taylor Cook (taylor_cook2@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Jeremy Kaye (jkaye@vcccd.edu)
 
Women in Engineering, Math and Science (WEMS)
Open to all MC students
 
President: Ria Regi (ria_regi1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Farisa Morales (fmorales@vcccd.edu)
 
Young Voters National Front
Any enrolled MC students may join YVNF
 
President: Arsalaun Kiani (arsalaun_kiani1@my.vcccd.edu)
Advisor: Shannon Johnson (sjohnson@vcccd.edu)