Moorpark College Academic Senate

Moorpark College Academic Senate consists of all full-time and part-time faculty.  The business of the Senate is conducted by the Senate Council and committees of the Senate.  The Senate meets every first, third, and fifth Tuesdays from 2:30-4pm in the A-138 Conference Room.  Guests are invited to attend and can make public comments at 2:30pm, when the meeting begins.

The Senate's primary responsibilities are to make recommendations for policies in the following areas, as defined by Education Code Section 53200:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
  2. Degree and certificate requirements
  3. Grading policies
  4. Educational program development
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. Processes for program review
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
  11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon.

Academic Senate Council 2013-14

ASC End-of-Year Lunch Flyer 2014

Academic Senate Council Executive Board

  • Mary Rees, President.  (805) 378-1400 x1646
  • Nenagh Brown, Vice-President. (805) 378-1400 x1748
  • Nathan Bowen, Secretary. (805) 553-4682
  • Mary Mills, Treasurer. (805) 378-1400 x1687

Academic Senate Council department representatives

  1. ACCESS: Melanie Masters
  2. Athletics: Howard Davis
  3. Behavioral Sciences: Dan Vieira
  4. Business: Reet Sumal
  5. Chemistry & Earth Sciences: Deanna Franke
  6. Child Development: Kristi Almeida-Bowin
  7. Computer Science & CNSE: Vish Viswanath 
  8. Counseling: Traci Allen
  9. Digital & Media Arts: Joanna Miller
  10. English & ESL: Sydney Sims
  11. EATM: Gary Wilson
  12. Health Education/Kinesiology: Jeff Kreil
  13. Health Sciences: Carol Velas
  14. History/Institutions: Hugo Hernandez
  15. Library: Mary LaBarge
  16. Life Sciences: Jazmir Hernandez
  17. Mathematics: Phil Abramoff
  18. Modern Languages: Raquel Olivera
  19. Music & Dance: James Song
  20. Physics & Astronomy: Ron Wallingford
  21. Student Health Center: Sharon Manakas
  22. Theater Arts & Communications: John Loprieno
  23. Visual & Media Arts: Lydia Etman
  24. Associated Students Liaison: Andrew Brown / Aaron Nosco