Moorpark College Academic Senate Council Agenda

Tuesday, March 17, 2020, 2:30 - 4:00 PM in the Campus Center Conference Room

Mission Statement: With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

See all handouts here on the Academic Senate (AS) website

I) Public Comments

(Those wishing to make public comments must be in attendance before 2:30 PM)

II) Approval of Minutes

A. March 3, 2020 See handout on AS website

III) Unfinished Business

- A. AS Council and committee updates
 Agenda item to ratify updates to the
 faculty membership of our committees.
 See handout on AS website
 Action item
- B. Decision-Making Handbook Workgroup

 progress report

Council created a workgroup to examine our participatory-governance *Handbook* as a whole entity and make any recommendations for updates; this is a progress report on its work to date.

Discussion item

IV) New Business

A. Corona Virus Preparations2:40 pm time certainPresented by Drs. Julius Sokenu andMary Rees

Our President and Vice-President for Academic Affairs will give us the latest update and take questions, concerns, and suggestions.

Discussion item

The Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters. "Academic and professional matters" are defined as:

- 1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
- 2. Degree & Certificate Requirements
- 3. Grading Policies
- 4. Educational Program Development
- 5. Standards & Policies regarding Student Preparation and Success
- 6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation process
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- 9. Processes for program review
- 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- + Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon.

B. Election for AS Vice President

Nominations have been called for according to the by-laws; there will also be an opportunity for nominations from the floor. Council will then vote to fill the position from June 2020 for one year; a 2/3rds majority is required.

See link and handouts on AS website

Action item

C. AS Monthly Budget Report Information item

V) Reports

See handouts on AS website

- A. Officer reports
- B. Faculty Liaison Reports
- C. Governance Committee Co-Chair Reports

VI) Announcements

- A. ASCCC Area C Meeting: March 28 Zoom meeting (Academic Senate for California Community Colleges)
- B. ASCCC Plenary: April 16-18, Oakland
- C. AS End-of-Year Brunch: May 11, 8 10am

VII) Adjournment

ACADEMIC SENATE COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES 2019 – 2020

POSITION	NAME	POSITION	NAME
ASC President	Nenagh Brown	Library	Mary LaBarge
			Danielle Kaprelian
ASC Vice President	Erik Reese	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez
			Audrey Chen
ASC Secretary	Renée Butler	Mathematics	Chris Copeland
			Curtis Paul
ASC Treasurer	Ruth Bennington	Media Art /	Jenna Patronete
		Comm Studies	Nicole Block
ACCESS	Jolie Herzig	Performing Arts	John Loprieno
	Silva Arzunyan		Nathan Bowen
Athletics	Vance Manakas	Physics / Ast /	Ronald Wallingford
	Mike Stuart	Engr / CS	Scarlet Relle
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira Kari Meyers		Matthew Morgan
		Social Sciences	Susan Kinkella
	Kari Weyers		Rex Edwards
Business	Josepha Baca	Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas
Administration	Reet Sumal		Silva Arzunyan
Chemistry /	Tiffany Pawluk	Visual Arts	Svetlana Kasalovic
Earth Sciences	Deanna Franke		Cynthia Minet
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks-	World Languages	Perry Bennett
	McGowan		Alejandra Valenzuela
	Shannon Coulter		Alejanura valenzuela
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman	Part-time Faculty	Felix Masci
	Jodi Dickey	Representative	Dan Darby
EATM	Gary Wilson	AFT Representative	Hugo Hernandez
	Cindy Wilson	(non-voting)	
English / ESL	Sydney Sims	CTE Liaison	Christy Douglass
	Jerry Mansfield	(non-voting)	
EOPS	Marnie Melendez	GP Liaison	
	Angie Rodriguez	(non-voting)	
Health Education /	Remy McCarthy	Student Liaison	Cocilia Nauvon
Kinesiology	Adam Black	(non-voting)	Cecilia Nguyen
Health Sciences	Michelle Dieterich	Committee Co-Chairs	
	Dalila Sankaran	(non-voting)	