MOORPARK COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE THE DISTINGUISHED FACULTY CHAIR AWARD

PROCEDURES

1. Title

The title of the award is the Distinguished Faculty Chair Award.

2. Eligibility

- Current full-time faculty with a minimum of ten years' service (classroom or non-classroom)
- Former full-time faculty, with a minimum of ten years, who are currently serving as part time faculty
- Faculty who have previously won the award are not eligible for re-nomination

3. Criteria

The Academic Senate established the Distinguished Faculty Chair Award to acknowledge faculty who have shown exceptional commitment to academic excellence demonstrated over a career of service to Moorpark College. The Senate's Award Committee seeks evidence demonstrating this in the following areas:

- Excellence in instruction (or excellence in area of service to students for non-classroom faculty)
- Excellence in campus service
- Excellence in professional development
- Excellence in other areas that demonstrates exceptional commitment to academic teaching and learning including but not limited to civic service, leadership, volunteer work, etc.

4. Nominations

(a) Timeline

The Academic Senate will call for nominations for the award after the presentation of the Distinguished Faculty Chair lecture given at the commencement of the academic year until the closing weeks of the Fall semester.

(b) <u>Promotion</u>

The Senate will ensure that the call for nominations is advertised broadly through the department representatives on the Academic Senate Council as well as through other channels as appropriate. The goal of focusing the call through all departments is to receive several nominations each year from diverse disciplines and categories of faculty.

(c) Nominators

Any faculty (full time or part-time) can nominate or provide supporting evidence for nominations.

(Members of the Award Committee may nominate or provide supporting evidence for nominations but if so they must recuse themselves from the work of the committee for that year.)

(d) Forms to be submitted

- The nomination form
- A nomination letter describing how the nominee meets the required criteria
- A curriculum vitae of the nominee
- Any other supporting documentation describing how the nominee meets the criteria, such as publications, awards, letters, etc.

5. The Award Committee

(a) Membership

- Previous recipients of the award; all should be invited to participate with optimally at least a third attending
- The Vice President of the Senate, as chair
- A second member of the Academic Senate Council chosen by the President

All members of the committee are voting members.

(b) Meeting

The committee will meet one time during the Spring semester, having received the nomination packets in advance.

(c) Procedures

- The committee will seek to award by consensus
- If this is not possible the committee will vote as individual members
- Members can either vote for an individual nomination or vote to "pass" on selecting a recipient for that year
- If a majority of the votes are for "pass" no award will be given

6. The Award

Awardees will be given:

- The responsibility of presenting a lecture to the Moorpark College community assembled at the commencement of the academic year
- A physical chair (as approved by the Academic Senate President)
- A one-year scholarship in their name as funded by the Foundation
- A photograph of themselves placed alongside those of the other Distinguished Faculty Chair Award recipients
- An opportunity to participate in the end-of-year graduation ceremony, giving a short speech, calling names, etc.

7. Award Responsibility

The Academic Senate Vice President is responsible for administering the Distinguished Faculty Chair Award.