## **Moorpark College Academic Senate General Meeting Minutes**

Friday, August 14th, 2015, 11:40 am-12:10 pm in PAC Main Theater

STANDING MEMBERS / ACADEMIC SENATE REPRESENTATIVES			
POSITION	NAME	POSITION	NAME
ASC Pres	Mary Rees	EATM	Gary Wilson
ASC V.P.	Nenagh Brown	Health Education/Kinesiology	Remy McCarthy
ASC Secretary	Nathan Bowen	Health Sciences	Dalila Sankaran
ASC Treasurer	Jazmir Hernandez	Library	Mary LaBarge
ACCESS	Melanie Masters	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez
Athletics	Howard Davis	Mathematics	Renee Butler
Behavioral Sciences	Dan Vieira	Music/Dance	James Song
Business Administration	Reet Sumal	Physics/Astronomy/Engineering	Erik Reese
Chemistry/Earth Sciences	Deanna Franke	Social Sciences	Hugo Hernandez / Susan Kinkella
Child Development	Kristi Almeida-Bowin	Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas
Comm Studies/Theater Arts/FTVM	John Loprieno	Visual & Applied Arts/Media Arts	Mike Hoffman
Counseling	Traci Allen	World Languages	Raquel Olivera
English/ ESL	Sydney Sims	Curriculum Chair (non-voting)	Jerry Mansfield
		Student Liaison	

1) Public Comments (Those wishing to make public comments must be in attendance before 11:40am)

## II) Action Items

- a) Academic Senate officer election results
  - i) Norman Marten is acting dean, meaning that Jazmir Hernandez (elected Treasurer) is stepping into the roll of Department Chair, and hence can no longer fill the position of Treasurer.
- b) Constitution and By-laws
  - i) Updates to these documents have been approved at the end of Spring 2015 by faculty and are now in effect.
- c) Introduction of Academic Senate representatives
  - i) Please be aware of your representatives so you can voice any topics or concerns to the Senate through them.
- d) Introduction of Standing Committee Faculty Co-Chairs
  - i) Professional Development Nenagh Brown
  - ii) F/TCAP Michael Walegur
  - iii) Curriculum Jerry Mansfield
  - iv) Distance Ed Lee Ballestero
    - (1) Motion to nominate Lee Ballestero as Distance Ed Co-Chair, approved unanimously
  - v) Student Success and Equity Beth Gillis-Smith
  - vi) SLO Committee Dan Vieira
  - vii) EdCAP see below
- e) Election for EdCAP Co-Chair
  - i) Howard Davis
    - (1) Motion to nominate Howard Davis as EdCAP Co-Chair, approved unanimously
- f) Nominations for Treasurer
  - i) Stephen Doyle put forth his name.
- g) Academic Senate Office Hours
  - i) Monday from 1-2:30pm
  - ii) Tuesdays 11am 12pm