Moorpark College Academic Senate General Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, August 16th, 2016, 11:30 am-12:00 pm in PAC Main Theater

STANDING MEMBERS / ACADEMIC SENATE REPRESENTATIVES			
POSITION	NAME	POSITION	NAME
ASC Pres	Mary Rees	EATM	Gary Wilson
ASC V.P.	Nenagh Brown	Health Education/Kinesiology	Remy McCarthy
ASC Secretary	Nathan Bowen	Health Sciences	Dalila Sankaran
ASC Treasurer	Beth Megill	Library	Mary LaBarge
ACCESS	Melanie Masters	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez / Carrie Geisbauer
Athletics	Vance Manakas	Mathematics	Renee Butler
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira	Music/Dance	James Song
Business Administration	Reet Sumal	Physics/Astronomy/Engineering	Erik Reese / Scarlet Relle
Chemistry/Earth Sciences	Deanna Franke	Social Sciences	Hugo Hernandez / Susan Kinkella
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks-McGowan	Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas
Comm Studies/Theater Arts/FTVM	Rolland Petrello	Visual & Applied Arts/Media Arts	Mike Hoffman
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman	World Languages	Raquel Olivera
English/ ESL	Sydney Sims	Curriculum Chair (non-voting)	Jerry Mansfield
		Student Liaison	

I) Public Comments (Those wishing to make public comments must be in attendance before 11:30am)

II) Action Items

- a) Changes in Academic Senate officer positions
 - Mary Rees is stepping down as Academic Senate President (this would have been her fourth year), to move into a
 position as an Interim Dean.
 - ii) Nenagh Brown will be stepping in to become an acting Academic Senate President
 - iii) We will hold an election of all four Academic Senate Officers. This will be for just this year.
 - iv) Formal recognition to Mary Rees for her excellent service as Academic Senate President, giving the "It's all good award"
- b) Call for nominations for Academic Senate officer positions
 - i) Nenagh Brown for President
 - ii) Jeff Baker for President
 - iii) Nathan Bowen for Vice President
 - iv) Erik Reese for Secretary
 - v) Renee Butler for Treasurer
- c) Introduction of Academic Senate Council Representatives
 - i) Representatives stood and were acknowledged
- d) Introduction of Standing Committee Faculty Co-Chairs
 - i) DE Committee
 - ii) SLO
 - iii) SS&E
 - iv) Curriculum
 - v) F/TCAP
 - vi) EdCAP
 - vii) Professional Development
- e) Call for nominations
 - i) See II) b) above.
- f) Report on Academic Senate Budget
 - i) Accreditation last time around there was a major disconnect between the self-study that was put forward and how people felt. This time around, we feel like this issue has been resolved, and that the self-study is a work of many here on campus.
 - ii) We have a \$25 membership (\$10 for part-time). That money can be pulled out as a one-time pull from your paycheck, or you can write a check to Moorpark College Academic Senate.
 - (1) Money goes toward scholarships for students.
 - (2) Some funds go toward bricks.
 - (3) We spend money on end-of-year lunch or breakfast for staff and faculty (all of the staff are invited to come for free). This is largely self-sustaining.

(4) Comment: suggestion to encourage a voluntary budget fund for bricks specifically, perhaps tied to donating a small amount for every hour of service accrued.

III) Announcements