Moorpark College Academic Senate General Meeting Minutes

Friday, August 11th, 2017, 12:00 - 12:15pm in the Performing Arts Center

Mission Statement

With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career technical education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

STANDING MEMBERS / ACADEMIC SENATE REPRESENTATIVES, 2016-17						Guests
POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	
ASC Pres	Nenagh Brown		Health Sciences	Michelle Dieterich / Dalila Sankaran		
ASC V.P.	Nathan Bowen		Kinesiology/HED	Remy McCarthy		
ASC Secretary	Erik Reese		Library	Mary LaBarge		
ASC Treasurer	Renee Butler		Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez / Carrie Geisbauer		
ACCESS	Jolie Bernal		Mathematics	Vahe Khachadoorian / Rena Petrello		
Athletics	Vance Manakas		Music/Dance	James Song		
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira / Kari Meyers		Physics/Astronomy/Engineering/CS	Ronald Wallingford / Scarlet Relle		
Business Administration	Reet Sumal / Ruth Bennington		Social Sciences	Hugo Hernandez / Susan Kinkella / Rex Edwards		
Chemistry/Earth Sciences	Tiffany Pawluk / Deanna Franke		Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas		
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks- McGowan		Visual & Applied Arts/Media Arts	Mike Hoffman		
Comm Studies/Theater Arts/FTVM	John Loprieno		World Languages	Raquel Olivera		
Counseling	Traci Allen		Curriculum Chair (non-voting)	Jerry Mansfield		
English/ ESL	Sydney Sims / Jerry Mansfield		Student Liaison			
EATM	Gary Wilson / Cindy Wilson					

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Moorpark College Academic Senate Council will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

- I) Public Comments
 - i) None
- II) Action Items
 - a) Resolution to maintain Academic Senate Council representative positions for 2017-8
 - i) Motion to approve by Mary Mills and seconded by Chuck Brinkman
 - ii) Approved by the general membership with Andrew Kinkella opposed and Daniel Rubinstein abstaining (Approx 120 faculty in attendance.)
 - b) Introduction of Academic Senate Council Officers and Representatives
 - i) Officers and representatives, as listed above, stood to be acknowledged.
 - c) Introduction of Faculty Co-Chairs of Standing Committees
 - i) Co-chairs stood to be acknowledged:

Curriculum: Jerry Mansfield EdCAP: Nathan Bowen F/TCAP: Erik Reese

Student Success & Equity: Trulie Thompson Professional Development: Lee Ballestero

SLO: Dani Vieira DE: Rachel Messinger Fiscal: Nenagh Brown

- III) Announcements
 - a) none
- IV) Adjournment