Moorpark College Academic Senate Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, October 3rd, 2017, 2:30 – 5:30pm in EATM 101 Joint meeting with Deans' Council for purposes of faculty prioritization

Mission Statement

With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career technical education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

STANDING MEMBERS / ACADEMIC SENATE REPRESENTATIVES, 2016-17						Guests
POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	Silvia Barajas
ASC Pres	Nenagh Brown	х	Health Sciences	Michelle Dieterich / Dalila Sankaran	DS	Silva Arzunyan Rolland Petrello Scarlet Relle Danielle Kaprelian Brock Cushman
ASC V.P.	Nathan Bowen	Х	Kinesiology/HED	Remy McCarthy	Х	
ASC Secretary	Erik Reese	Х	Library	Mary LaBarge	Х	
ASC Treasurer	Renee Butler	Х	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez / Carrie Geisbauer	JH	
ACCESS	Jolie Bernal / Silva Arzunyan	JB	Mathematics	Vahe Khachadoorian / Rena Petrello	VK	
Athletics	Vance Manakas	Х	Music/Dance	Brandon Elliot / James Song	BE	
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira / Kari Meyers	DV	Physics/Astronomy/Engineering/CS	Ronald Wallingford / Scarlet Relle	RW	
Business Administration	Reet Sumal / Ruth Bennington	RS / RB	Social Sciences	Hugo Hernandez / Susan Kinkella	НН	
Chemistry/Earth Sciences	Tiffany Pawluk / Deanna Franke	TP	Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas	Х	
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks- McGowan	Х	Visual & Applied Arts/Media Arts	Mike Hoffman	Х	
Comm Studies/Theater Arts/FTVM	John Loprieno	Х	World Languages	Raquel Olivera		
Counseling	Traci Allen	Х	Curriculum Chair (non-voting)	Jerry Mansfield		
English/ ESL	Sydney Sims / Jerry Mansfield	SS / JM	Student Liaison	Simran Singh		
EATM	Gary Wilson / Cindy Wilson	GW				
VPAA	Julius Sokenu	Х	VPSS	Amanuel Gebru	Х	
Dean	Jane Morgan	Х	Dean	Howard Davis	Х	
Dean	Mary Rees	Х	Dean	Helga Winkler	Х	
Dean	Norman Martin	Х	Dean	Jennifer Goetz	Х	
Dean	Carol Higashida	Х				

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Moorpark College Academic Senate Council will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

I) Call to Order

II) Public Comments

III) Faculty Prioritization

- a) Faculty Prioritization
 - i) Each general funds faculty request was presented by representatives with a 3-minute time limit per request with a 6minute maximum for multiple requests from the same program
- b) There were two Counselor hires (ACCESS & CalWorks) from categorical funds for which there was no vote needed.
- c) Results for the General Fund positions for the prioritization of full time faculty hires for the Fall of 2018 as tabulated from the votes cast by the joint councils of the Academic Senate and Deans:

Rank	Discipline		
1	Math (1)		
2	Communication Studies (1)		
3	Astronomy/Physics		
3	Film Studies		
3	World Languages—Spanish (1)		
6	Engineering		
7	English (1)		
8	Business (Hospitality)		
9	Math (2)		
10	Counseling—General		
11	History		
12	Library—Systems Librarian		
12	Sociology (2)		
14	Biology		
15	Kinesiology/HED/Coach		
16	Psychology		
17	Art (Studio Art)		
18	Sociology (1)		