Moorpark College Academic Senate General Meeting Minutes

Friday, August 17th, 2018, 11:30am - 12:00pm in the Performing Arts Center

Mission Statement

With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career technical education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

STANDING MEMBERS / ACADEMIC SENATE REPRESENTATIVES, 2018-19						Guests
POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	In addition to the officers, there were ~ 60 faculty in attendance
ASC Pres	Nenagh Brown		Health Sciences	Michelle Dieterich / Dalila Sankaran		
ASC V.P.	Nathan Bowen		Kinesiology/HED	Remy McCarthy		
ASC Secretary	Erik Reese		Library	Mary LaBarge		
ASC Treasurer	Renee Butler		Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez / Carrie Geisbauer		
ACCESS	Jolie Herzig / Silva Arzunyan		Mathematics	Vahe Khachadoorian / Rena Petrello		
Athletics	Vance Manakas		Music/Dance	Brandon Elliott / James Song		
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira / Kari Meyers		Physics/Astronomy/Engineering/CS	Ronald Wallingford / Scarlet Relle		
Business Administration	Reet Sumal / Ruth Bennington		Social Sciences	Hugo Hernandez / Susan Kinkella		
Chemistry/Earth Sciences	Tiffany Pawluk / Deanna Franke		Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas / Silva Arzunyan		
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks- McGowan		Visual & Applied Arts/Media Arts	Mike Hoffman		
Comm Studies/Theater Arts/FTVM	John Loprieno		World Languages	Helga Winkler / Alejandra Valenzuela		
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman / Traci Allen		Curriculum Chair (non-voting)	Jerry Mansfield		
English/ ESL	Sydney Sims / Jerry Mansfield		CTE Liaison (non-voting)	Josepha Baca		
EATM	Gary Wilson / Cindy Wilson		GP Liaison (non-voting)			
EOPS	Marnie Melendez		Student Liaison	Cassie Cardoza		
Part-Time Rep						

In accordance with the Ralph M. Brown Act and SB 751, minutes of the Moorpark College Academic Senate Council will record the votes of all members as follows: (1) Members recorded as absent are presumed not to have voted; (2) the names of members voting in the minority or abstaining are recorded; (3) all other members are presumed to have voted in the majority.

I) Public Comments

a) None

II) Action Items

- a) Introduction of Academic Senate Council Officers and Representatives
 -) Officers

(1) President: Nenagh Brown
(2) Vice-President: Nathan Bowen
(3) Secretary: Erik Reese
(4) Treasurer: Renee Butler

- ii) Representatives
 - (1) As listed above and asked to stand for acknowledgement
- b) Introduction of Faulty Co-Chairs of Standing Committees
 - i) Curriculum:
 - (1) Jerry Mansfield (English)
 - ii) Distance Education:
 - (1) Rachel Messinger (Anthropology)
 - iii) EdCAP (Education Committee on Accreditation and Planning)
 - (1) Nathan Bowen (Music)

- iv) FTCAP (Facilities and Technology Committee on Accreditation and Planning)
 - (1) Erik Reese (Astronomy/Physics)
- v) Fiscal
 - (1) Nenagh Brown (History)—ex-officio
- vi) Professional Development
 - (1) Lee Ballestero (Political Science)
- vii) Student Learning Outcomes
 - (1) Dani Vieira (Sociology)
- viii) Student Success and Equity
 - (1) Trulie Thompson (Counselling)
- c) Approval of Moorpark College Academic Senate Accounts for 2017-18
 - i) Not discussed at this meeting

III) Any Other Business

- a) Patty Colman—please recognize Norman Martin for his service to the college and his return to being a faculty member
- b) Sydney Sims—it is professional development to just sit in on senate meetings and learn about what goes on at the college
- c) Cynthia Minet—grading policy: discussion of grade plusses and minuses
 - (1) David Weinstein
 - (a) Just because plusses and minuses are implemented does not necessitate their use
 - (b) Individual instructors will have the final say for their classes
 - 2) Nenagh Brown: Grade policy is a district-wide decision
- d) Phil Abramoff
 - i) Disappointed in only 4 hires this year instead of 25+ in years past
 - ii) Ought to work on hiring replacements for retirees and others that leave in addition to increasing hiring overall
 - iii) Nenagh Brown: One of the senate goals for 2018-19 from the Planning Meeting is: "Focus on faculty prioritization"
- e) Ruth Bennington—New Faculty Orientation (NFO)
 - i) NFO is no longer in the hands of faculty
 - ii) Nenagh Brown
 - (1) Thank you to Patty Colman and Nils Slattum for running NFO for many, many years
 - (2) This year NFO will be overseen by President Sanchez while considering options for next year
 - (3) Patty Colman has graciously agreed to continue the faculty mentor component of NFO
- f) David Weinstein—new student-centered funding formula from the state
 - i) Have concern over grade integrity in the face of the new funding model that monetizes student success
 - ii) Potential pressure put on faculty for grade inflation to increase college revenue
- g) John Baker
 - i) The service awards illustrate the fact that we are not retaining faculty members
 - ii) Many leave for larger salaries elsewhere
- h) Rachel Messenger
 - i) Is California Promise only for full-time students?
 - i) There seems to be an emphasis on full-time students in recent initiatives, etc.
 - iii) Answer: California College Promise Grant—formerly BoG grant—is for both full and part-time students

IV) Adjournment