Academic Senate Council Minutes

Tuesday, May 1, 2012 – 2:30-4:00 p.m. in **Admin-138**

STANDING MEMBERS						Guests
POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	POSITION	NAME	PRESENT	Welcome!
ASC Pres	Riley Dwyer	X	EATM	Cindy Wilson	X	Please sign in.
ASC V.P.	Nenagh Brown		Health Education/Kinesiology	Jeff Kreil		
ASC Secretary	Lisa Putnam	X	Health Sciences	Dalila Sankaran	X	
ASC Treasurer	Kathryn Adams	X	History/Institutions	Rex Edwards	X	
ACCESS	Melanie Masters		Library	Mary LaBarge	X	
Athletics	Howard Davis	X	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez	X	
Behavioral Sciences	Dan Vieira	X	Mathematics	Phil Abramoff	X	
Business	Stephanie Branca Reet Sumal	RS	Music/ Dance	James Song Nathan Bowen	NB	
Chemistry/ Earth Sciences	Deanna Franke	X	Physics/ Astronomy	Clint Harper	X	
Child Development	Kristi Almeida	X	Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas	X	
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman Alt. Corey Wendt	СВ	Theater Arts/ Communications	John Loprieno	X	
Computer Info Systems	Mary Mills	X	Visual & Applied Arts	Cynthia Minet		
Computer Sci/ CNSE	Vish Viswanath	X	World Languages	Raquel Olivera	X	
Digital Media Arts	Svetlana Kasalovic Alt. Joanna Miller	SK	Curriculum Chair (non-voting)	Mary Rees	X	
English/ ESL	Sydney Sims	X	Student Liaison	JT Mendoza		

Quick Recap:

Topic	Discussion/Comments	Action	
District Decision Making & Participatory	Review and recommend changes to document	Motion to approve the document as	
Governance Manual and Functional Mapping		amended. Motion carries unanimously.	
2012-13 Governance Committees & Co-	Curriculum Mary Rees	Motion to approve these Faculty Co-	
Chair Elections	EdCAP Lee Ballestero	Chairs carries unanimously.	
	Faculty Development – Margaret Tennent		
	TechCAP Martin Chetlen		
	Facilities CAP – VACANT (will advertise again)		
Sabbatical Toolkit proposed revisions	Review and recommend changes to document	Motion to approve the document as amended. Motion carries unanimously.	
Year End Awards	Voting conducted by plurality (those receiving the		
	most votes).		
	Classified: All Classified		
	Adjunct: Tim Weaver		
	Manager: Lori Bennett		
	Full Time: Kathryn Adams		

2:30 pm—Call to Order

I. Public Comments:

Don't forget to complete your opt-in/opt-out form for Faculty Development.

II. Approval of Minutes:

April 17, 2012: Approved

III. Officer Reports

a. Treasurer: No Report

b. Secretary: No Report

Academic Senate Council Minutes

Tuesday, May 1, 2012 – 2:30-4:00 p.m. in **Admin-138**

c. Vice President: No Report

d. President: No Report

IV. Committee Reports

a. Curriculum: No Report

b. EdCAP: No Report

- c. Facilities CAP.
- d. Faculty Development:
- e. Fiscal Planning:
- f. TechCAP:
- g. DTRW

V. Unfinished Business

- a. District Decision Making & Participatory Governance Manual and Functional Mapping Review and recommend changes to document:
 - 2nd bullet on page 20 add "or is inconsistent across the district colleges" **Motion to include this language: motion carries unanimously**
 - Page 9, #1 near bottom change "in this role..." to "The group formulates recommendations to the board, either through the Chancellor or directly, through consultation"
 - DCAS, recommendations for changes:
 - -- Recommend that there be a faculty co-chair
 - -- Recommend that all three EVPs (or academic designee) be on this committee

Motion to vote on page 9 and DCAS together: Motion carries unanimously Motion to accept proposed amendments. Motion carries unanimously.

Motion to accept the document as amended: Motion carries unanimously

b. 2012-13 Governance Committees & Co-Chair Elections (see Constitution for duties of co-chairs)

Motion: Approve the appointment of all uncontested positions for Curriculum (Mary Rees), EdCAP

(Lee Ballestero), and TechCAP (Martin Chetlen) – Motion carries unanimously.

The ASC thanks these individuals for their continued work on these committees. It is greatly appreciated.

Faculty Development:

LeeAnn Mulville is stepping down after 7 years.

Two faculty are seeking to be the co-chair are: Brendan Purdy and Margaret Tennant.

Motion to vote via written ballot by simple majority – motion carries unanimously

Results: Margaret Tennant wins by majority.

Facilities CAP

Phil Abramoff is stepping down so that he continue to serve as the Academic Senate rep for Mathematics. Currently we do not have another faculty member interested in this position. We cannot just appoint someone.

Motion to advertise this position again; this will be done at the beginning of the 2012-13 year.

Academic Senate Council Minutes

Tuesday, May 1, 2012 – 2:30-4:00 p.m. in **Admin-138**

Motion carries unanimously.

Per our constitution the Fiscal Committee Faculty Co-Chair is the AS President.

c. Strategic Planning

VI. New Business

a. Senate Scholarships (\$750 each)

Students recommended for our 2012 Scholarships: Sarah LaGioia, Arshia Malekzadeh, Ariel Ostrowiecki

b. Sabbatical Toolkit proposed revisions

Motion: To approve the document as amended. Motion carries unanimously.

c. Year End Awards:

Voting conducted by plurality (those receiving the most votes).

i. Classified: All Classified
 ii. Adjunct: Tim Weaver
 iii. Manager: Lori Bennett
 iv. Full Time: Kathryn Adams

- d. Year End Assessment / Accomplishments
 - i. Draft of accomplishments.

VII. Announcements

- a. VCCCD Functional Mapping Y'All Come: May 2, 3:30-4:30 pm, EATM Lecture Hall
- b. Luncheon: May 10, 11:30-1:30, Campus Center