## **Moorpark College Academic Senate Planning Session Agenda**

Wednesday, August 12, 2020, 12:30 – 1:45 PM via **Zoom** 

**Moorpark College Mission Statement**: With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

All handouts are available on the Academic Senate handout website

I) Public comments

(Those wishing to make public comments must be in attendance before 12:30 PM)

- II) Introductions
- III) Participatory governance and the Academic Senate purview
- IV) The Brown Act
- V) Roles and responsibilities of senators
- VI) Academic Senate Council goals for 2020-2021
- VII) Equity and social justice
- VIII) Adjournment

The Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters. "Academic and professional matters" are defined as:

- 1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
- 2. Degree & Certificate Requirements
- 3. Grading Policies
- 4. Educational Program Development
- Standards & Policies regarding Student Preparation and Success
- College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation process
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- 9. Processes for program review
- Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- + Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon.

## ACADEMIC SENATE COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES 2020 – 2021

POSITION	NAME	POSITION	NAME
ASC President	Erik Reese	Library	- Danielle Kaprelian
ASC Vice President	Tiffany Pawluk	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez Audrey Chen
ASC Secretary	-	Mathematics	Chris Copeland Phil Abramoff
ASC Treasurer	Ruth Bennington	Media Art / Comm Studies	Jenna Patronete Nicole Block
ACCESS	Jolie Herzig Silva Arzunyan	Performing Arts	John Loprieno Nathan Bowen
Athletics	Vance Manakas Mike Stuart	Physics / Ast / Engr / CS	- Scarlet Relle
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira Kari Meyers	Social Sciences	Matthew Morgan Susan Kinkella Rex Edwards
Business Administration	Josepha Baca Reet Sumal	Student Health Center	Sharon Manakas Silva Arzunyan
Chemistry / Earth Sciences	- Deanna Franke	Visual Arts	Svetlana Kasalovic Cynthia Minet
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks- McGowan Shannon Coulter	World Languages	Perry Bennett Alejandra Valenzuela
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman Jodi Dickey	Part-time Faculty Representative	Felix Masci Dan Darby
EATM	Gary Wilson Cindy Wilson	AFT Representative (non-voting)	Hugo Hernandez
English / ESL	Sydney Sims Jerry Mansfield	CTE Liaison (non-voting)	Christy Douglass
EOPS	Marnie Melendez Angie Rodriguez	GP Liaison (non-voting)	Traci Allen
Health Education / Kinesiology	- Adam Black	Student Liaison (non-voting)	
Health Sciences	Michelle Dieterich Jamee Maxey	Committee Co-Chairs (non-voting)	