# MOORPARK COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE ANNUAL AWARDS

Adopted by the Academic Senate Council on ????-??-??

## **Procedures**

## Awards

The Academic Senate shall make the following awards:

- Classified Employee of the Year
- Manager of the Year
- Adjunct Faculty of the Year
- Full-time Faculty of the Year
- President's Award (to be awarded solely by the Academic Senate President)

These awards will be organized by an Academic Senate Officer as appointed by the Academic Senate President.

## Criteria

Each award celebrates exceptional contribution to Moorpark College over the preceding academic year within the different categories of employment. This can be demonstrated in areas such as

- Job performance
- Concern for students
- Concern for colleagues
- Contributions to campus
- Leadership
- Professional development
- Any other areas

See accompanying nomination form.

## **Nomination Process**

- a) Publicity for the awards and the call for nominations should be made in the Fall and Spring semesters, as appropriate.
- b) The call for nominations will include a list of the recipients of the awards for the previous three years at a minimum.
- c) Nominations for all awards (except for the President's award) may be made by any non-student employee of the campus. Each nominator may make one nomination per award.

- d) Nominees for all awards (except the President's award) may be any employee of the campus within the designated categories with the exception listed in (g). Nominees may be put forward by more than one nominator.
- e) All nomination forms must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation to be accepted for consideration. These letters will be given to nominees at the Senate year-end event.
- f) All forms must be submitted electronically.
- g) Voting members of the Academic Senate Council may not be nominated for an award because of their role in determining the recipients of the Annual Awards.

## **Selection Process**

- a) The nomination paperwork for all nominees shall be distributed to the Academic Senate Council for consideration no later than its first April meeting.
- b) At the meeting any procedural or organization questions may be asked; there will not be discussion of individual nominees.
- c) At a subsequent meeting of Council, senators will rank their choice for each award, first, second, third, etc., on a paper ballot to be collected at the end of that meeting. The paper ballot will include senator information that will be included in the results of the ranked voting. In the case that the Council meets in a virtual format, an alternative to the paper ballot may be used. Examples of alternatives include, but are not limited to, an online poll or excel spreadsheet emailed to Senate Council members.
- d) The recipient of each award will be the nominee with the highest rank (lowest total number). In the case of a tie in points for an award, the person obtaining the highest number of first rankings will be the recipient.
- e) The results of the vote will be ratified by the Senate at its next meeting.
- f) All nominees will be notified of their nomination and whether they will be a recipient of an award after the vote has taken place.

## **Award Process**

- a) All nominees for each award will be given a copy of their nomination letter(s) at the Senate's year-end event.
- b) The recipient of each award will be given a plaque honoring their contribution to the campus and a brief opportunity to address the guests at the Senate year-end event.
- c) The names of the recipients will be recorded on the Academic Senate's boards of recognition.

## MOORPARK COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE ANNUAL AWARDS

## **PAST RECIPIENTS**

|--|

2019-20: Shyan Diaz-Brown

2018-19: Lan Nguyen

2017-18: Tracie Bosket

2016-17: Tommy Arellano

2015-16: Mary Swenson

2014-15: Mara Rodriguez

2013-14: Linda Sanders

2012-13: Gail Gurrola

2011-12: All Classified Employees

2010-11: Mary Anne Beck

2009-10: Scotty MacLeod

2008-09: Peggy Spellman

2007-08: Sharon Miller

2006-07: Louse Christener

## Manager of the Year:

2019-20: Khushnur Dadabhoy

2018-19: Howard Davis

2017-18: Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz

2017-18: Silvia Barajas

2015-16: Julius Sokenu

2014-15: Lisa Putnam

2013-14: Amanuel Gebru

2012-13: Patricia Ewins

2011-12: Lori Bennett

2010-11: Lisa Miller

2009-10: Inajane Nicklas

2008-09: Ray DiGiulio

2007-08: Eva Conrad

2006-07: None awarded

#### Adjunct Faculty of the Year:

2019-20: John Handlos

2018-19: Kenny Plummer & Clare Sadnik

2017-18: Brian Burns

2016-17: Lynn Hastings

2015-16: Lydia Etman

2014-15: Michael Stuart

2013-14: Kari Meyers

2012-13: David Mayorga

2011-12: Tim Weaver

2010-11: John Birmingham 2009-10: Sandra Hunter 2008-09: Amy Corin 2007-08: Jana Johnson 2006-07: Jerry Lasnik

#### Full Time Faculty of the Year:

2019-20: Rena Petrello

2018-19: Ed Garcia

2017-18: Jeremy Kaye

2016-17: Ranford Hopkins

2015-16: Brenda Woodhouse

2014-15: Danita Redd

2013-14: Svetlana Kasalovic

2012-13: Letricia Mai

2011-12: Kathryn Adams

2010-11: Mary Rees

2009-10: Jeff Baker

2008-09: Ed Garcia

2007-08: Cynthia Barnett

2006-07: Mary LaBarge

## President's Award:

This award is given by the Academic Senate President to a person who has been exceptional in helping Moorpark faculty achieve their academic and professional goals over the previous year.

2019-20: Guided Pathways Program Team Traci Allen, Beth Miller, Ashley Lajoie,

Matthew Morgan

2018-19: Gilbert Downs

2017-18: Norman Marten

2016-17: John Loprieno

2015-16: Maintenance, Custodial, and Grounds

2014-15: Howard Davis

2013-14: IT Department

2012-13: Mary Rees

2011-12: Renee Fraser

2010-11: Kathy Colborn

2009-10: Louise Christensen

2008-09: Sue Johnson

2007-08: Pam Eddinger

2006-07: James Meznek