Moorpark College - Joint Academic Senate and Deans Council Minutes

Tuesday October 19, 2021 2:34pm-5:30pm in CCCR and Zoom

Moorpark College Mission Statement: Grounded in equity, social justice, and a students first philosophy, Moorpark College values diverse communities. We empower learners from local, national, and global backgrounds to complete their degree, certificate, transfer, and career education goals. Through the integration of innovative instruction and customized student support, our programs are designed to achieve equitable outcomes.

All handouts are available on the <u>Academic Senate handout website</u>

I. Public Comments

A. Mary – Thank you to everyone who is putting so much effort into this important process and voting for the benefit of the college as a whole.

B. Jennifer – We are having our first emergency drill in two years on Thursday. Everyone should have received an email message with the details.

C. Nathan – We have three concerts this week, one online and two in person, including Stream Jam 7, Wind Ensemble, and Jazz Ensemble.

D. Allison – We have Safe Zone training again this Thursday. Register by email to MCSHC@vcccd.edu.

II. Faculty Prioritization Presentations and Voting

A. Faculty Prioritization Process

1. Each individual request was given 3 minutes to present and each discipline with more than one request was given 6 minutes to present.

2. Digital and paper ballots were sent to both Erik and Nicole by voting members of Academic Senate Council and Deans Council to calculate immediately following the presentations.

III. Faculty Prioritization Results Summary

- A. General Fund Requests
 - Rank Total Subject
 - 1 169 Counseling (1)
 - 2 141 Ethnic Studies
 - 3 137 Physics
 - 4 131 Journalism
 - 5 129 Geography/GIS
 - 6 127 Accounting
 - 7 125 Engineering
 - 7 125 Graphics/Multimedia (1)
 - 9 121 Child Development
 - 10 119 Music—Ethnomusicology
 - 11 117 Psychology
 - 12 109 Business

- 13 105 Math—Math & Science Center
- 14 101 Computer Science
- 15 95 Library
- 16 93 World Languages—Spanish
- 17 91 Criminal Justice
- 18 89 EATM
- 19 77 Counseling (2)
- 20 75 Music—Orchestra Director/Director of Instrumental Studies
- 21 73 English
- 22 69 Graphics/Multimedia (2)—MAKR Faculty
- 23 61 Coach/KIN/HED—Track and Cross Country
- 24 41 Counseling (3)
- B. Mandated and Restricted General Fund (Categorical) Requests (presented as information):
 - Counselor EOPS/CalWorks
 - EATM—Registered Veterinary Technician
 - Nursing

IV. Vote Calculations Complete and Adjournment by 5:30pm

Senate will provide to individuals with disabilities reasonable modification or accommodation including an alternate, accessible version of all meeting materials, consistent with Executive Order N-29-20 and Government Code sections 54953.2, 54954.1, 54954.2, and 54957.5. To request an accommodation, please contact the Senate Treasurer <u>rbennington@vcccd.edu</u> by 5pm the Sunday before the meeting of interest.

VISITORS PRESENT 10/19/2021

Phil Abramoff, Loay Alnaji, Chad Basile, Oleg Bespalov, Veronique Boucquey, Renee Butler, Robert Cabral, Matt Calfin, Jennifer Clark, Tammy Coleman, Patty Colman, Howard Davis, Khushnur Dadabhoy, Monica Garcia, Amanuel Gebru, Kristy Gonzalez, Carol Higashida, Christina Lee, Priscilla Mora, Farisa Morales, Esmaail Nikjeh, Chris Ojeda, Trustee Bernardo Perez, Rolland Petrello, Mary Rees, Bryan Rodriguez, Claire Sadnik, Julius Sokenu, Trulie Thompson, Tim Weaver

ACADEMIC SENATE COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES 2021 – 2022

POSITION	NAME	Present	POSITION	NAME	Pre
ASC President	Erik Reese	ER	Library	Danielle Kaprelian	DK
ASC Vice President	Tiffany Pawluk	TP	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez Audrey Chen	JΗ
ASC Secretary	Nicole Block	NB	Mathematics	Marcos Enriquez Rena Petrello	ME /
ASC Treasurer	Ruth Bennington	RB	Media Arts / Comm Studies	Jenna Patronete Jamie Whittington Studer) Jb J
ACCESS	Jolie Herzig Silva Arzunyan	JH / SA	Performing Arts	Nathan Bowen	NB
Athletics	Matt Crater Mike Stuart	МС	Physics / AST / ENGR / CS	Chrystin Green Scarlet Relle	CG.
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira Kari Meyers	DV	Social Sciences	Matthew Morgan Susan Kinkella Rex Edwards	MN
Business Administration	Josepha Baca Reet Sumal	JB	Student Health Center	Allison Case Barton Silva Arzunyan	ACE S
Chemistry / Earth Sciences	Roger Putnam Rob Keil	RP	Visual Arts	Erika Lizée Cynthia Minet	EL
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks- McGowan Shannon Coulter	CSM	World Languages	Perry Bennett Alejandra Valenzuela	РВ
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman Jodi Dickey	CB / JD	Part-time Faculty Representative	Felix Masci Dan Darby	FM
EATM	Gary Wilson Cindy Wilson	GW	AFT Representative (non-voting)	Hugo Hernandez	
English / ESL / Humanities	Sydney Sims Jerry Mansfield	SS	CTE Liaison (non-voting)	TBD	
EOPS	Marnie Melendez Angie A. Rodriguez	MM	GP Liaison (non-voting)		
Health Education / Kinesiology	Adam Black	AB	Student Liaison (non-voting)	Priscilla Saerang	PS
Health Sciences	Michelle Dieterich Jamee Maxey	JM	Committee Co- Chairs (non-voting)	Nenagh Brown Beth Gillis-Smith Letrisha Mai	NB BGS LM