Moorpark College Academic Senate Council Agenda

Tuesday, Mar 2, 2021, 2:30 – 4:00 PM via Zoom

Mission Statement: With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

All handouts are available on the Academic Senate handout website

I) Public Comments

(Those wishing to make public comments must be in attendance before 2:30 PM; 3-min limit)

II) Approval of Minutes

A. February 16, 2021 See handout on AS website

III) Unfinished Business

A. Full-Time Faculty Hiring Committee Composition

Senate previously indicated a strong preference for restricting membership on full-time faculty hiring committees to tenured faculty. We revisit this preference with an equity lens. As part of this discussion, we will look at the VCCCD Employee Diversity Dashboard where one can look at the data by college, role, etc. See handout on AS website Discussion item The Academic Senate is an organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to "academic and professional matters" defined as:

- 1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
- 2. Degree & certificate requirements
- 3. Grading policies
- 4. Educational program development
- 5. Standards & policies regarding student preparation and success
- 6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation process
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- 9. Processes for program review
- 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- 11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon.

IV) New Business

A. Standing Committee Faculty Co-Chairs Elections: PD, SEA, SLO

We will hold elections to fill these remaining faculty co-chair positions for two-year terms starting June 1, 2021. A simple majority of votes in the Academic Senate Council is required for election of faculty co-chairs (By-laws Article VIII Section A 1). Current nomination information is available on the <u>AS elections page</u>. See handouts on AS website

Discussion item

B. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Coordinator—Tamarra Coleman Professor Tamarra Coleman has taken on the role of Moorpark College DEI coordinator and will discuss this new role. No handouts on AS website Information item

C. Low Textbook Cost (LTC)

Development of a Low Textbook Cost (LTC) designation on the schedule of classes is being considered, similar to that for Zero Textbook Cost (ZTC). We must determine what "low cost" means for our district, with agreement between all three colleges. The proposed value is \$40, so required course materials equal to or less than \$40 would qualify for the LTC designation. No handouts on AS website Discussion item

D. Extension of Pass/No-pass and COVID-Related EW Deadlines

The California Community College Chancellor's Office (CCCCO) issued executive order 2021-01 on grade-related regulations. In addition, the District Technical Review Workgroup—Student Services (DTRW-SS) discussed both the executive order and COVID-related EW options for students. Students may access these options on the <u>Admissions and Records Forms webpage</u>. See handouts on AS website Discussion item

E. Academic Senate Annual Awards

Council holds its Annual Awards to recognize the exceptional contribution so many at Moorpark make. We revisit our process documents for these awards. We will celebrate at the May 3 Campus Update.

See handouts on AS website Discussion item: first read

F. Academic Senate Constitution and Bylaws

The Academic Senate Constitution states that "The Academic Senate Council shall re-examine the Constitution at least once every six years and the By-Laws at least once every two years" (Article IX). Amendments to both documents require a majority vote to first be placed on the agenda. Constitutional amendments require a two-thirds vote of the general membership. By-Laws amendments require a two-thirds vote in Senate Council. It is time to revisit both the Constitution and the By-Laws. How will Senate lead equity and social justice efforts on campus and beyond? See handouts on AS website Discussion item

- G. Racial and Social Justice (3:50pm time certain) Standing agenda item to discuss and address racial and social justice issues. No handouts on AS website Discussion item
- Future Agenda Items
 What academic and professional matters would the Academic Senate Council like to discuss in future meetings?
 No handouts on AS website
 Discussion item

V) Reports

- A. Officer reports
- B. Faculty Liaison Reports
- C. Standing Committee Co-Chair Reports

VI) Announcements

- A. Career Week Mar 1-4
- B. Multicultural Day Apr 13
- C. ASCCC Area C Meeting Virtual Event Mar 27
- D. ASCCC 2021 Spring Plenary Session Virtual Event Apr 15-17

VII) Adjournment

Senate will provide to individuals with disabilities reasonable modification or accommodation including an alternate, accessible version of all meeting materials, consistent with Executive Order N-29-20 and Government Code sections 54953.2, 54954.1, 54954.2, and 54957.5. To request an accommodation, please contact the Senate Treasurer <u>rbennington@vcccd.edu</u> by 5pm the Sunday before the meeting of interest.

ACADEMIC SENATE COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES 2020 – 2021

POSITION	NAME	POSITION	NAME
ASC President	Erik Reese	Library	Danielle Kaprelian -
ASC Vice President	Tiffany Pawluk	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez Audrey Chen
ASC Secretary	Nicole Block	Mathematics	Marcos Enriquez Phil Abramoff
ASC Treasurer	Ruth Bennington	Media Art / Comm Studies	Jenna Patronete Jamie Whittington- Studer
ACCESS	Jolie Herzig Silva Arzunyan	Performing Arts	John Loprieno Nathan Bowen
Athletics	Matt Crater Mike Stuart	Physics / Ast / Engr / CS	Chrystin Green Scarlet Relle
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira Kari Meyers	Social Sciences	Matthew Morgan Susan Kinkella Rex Edwards
Business Administration	Josepha Baca Reet Sumal	Student Health Center	Allison Case Barton Silva Arzunyan
Chemistry / Earth Sciences	Roger Putnam Rob Keil	Visual Arts	Svetlana Kasalovic Cynthia Minet
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks- McGowan Shannon Coulter	World Languages	Perry Bennett Alejandra Valenzuela
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman Jodi Dickey	Part-time Faculty Representative	Felix Masci Dan Darby
EATM	Gary Wilson Cindy Wilson	AFT Representative (non-voting)	Hugo Hernandez
English / ESL / HUM	Sydney Sims Jerry Mansfield	CTE Liaison (non-voting)	Christy Douglass
EOPS	Angie Rodriguez	GP Liaison (non-voting)	Traci Allen
Health Education / Kinesiology	Adam Black -	Student Liaison (non-voting)	Scott Pugh
Health Sciences	Michelle Dieterich Jamee Maxey	Committee Co-Chairs (non-voting)	