Moorpark College Academic Senate Council Agenda

Tuesday October 19, 2021 2:30pm-5:00pm in CCCR and Zoom

Moorpark College Mission Statement: Grounded in equity, social justice, and a students first philosophy, Moorpark College values diverse communities. We empower learners from local, national, and global backgrounds to complete their degree, certificate, transfer, and career education goals. Through the integration of innovative instruction and customized student support, our programs are designed to achieve equitable outcomes.

The Academic Senate is an organization that primarily makes recommendations with respect to "academic and professional matters" defined as (Title 5 §53200):

- (1) Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and placing courses within disciplines
- (2) Degree and certificate requirements
- (3) Grading policies
- (4) Educational program development
- (5) Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
- (6) District and college governance structures, as related to faculty
- (7) Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
- (8) Policies for faculty professional development activities
- (9) Processes for program review
- (10) Processes for institutional planning and budget development
- (11) Other academic and professional matters as are mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the academic senate

All handouts are available on the Academic Senate handout website

I) Public Comments

(3-minute limit; please be in attendance before 2:30pm)

II) Full-Time Faculty Prioritization

This Academic Senate Council meeting is dedicated to prioritizing the full-time faculty requests received from program plans. The joint work of our Council along with Deans Council will be forwarded as a recommendation to the college President for hiring.

See handouts on AS website as follows:

- 1) Faculty prioritization assumptions, criteria, and ground rules
- 2) Ballot for faculty prioritization
- 3) Program plan justifications for full-time faculty
- 4) Guide for effective use of data for prioritization
- 5) Program plan data report—Three-year program data
- 6) Number of degrees, certificates, and awards by program

Action item

III) Announcements

- A. ASCCC 2021 Fall Plenary Thu-Sat Nov 4-6
- B. Board of Trustees Meeting Tue Nov 9

IV) Adjournment

Senate will provide to individuals with disabilities reasonable modification or accommodation including an alternate, accessible version of all meeting materials, consistent with Executive Order N-29-20 and Government Code sections 54953.2, 54954.1, 54954.2, and 54957.5. To request an accommodation, please contact the Senate Treasurer rebennington@vcccd.edu by 5pm the Sunday before the meeting of interest.

ACADEMIC SENATE COUNCIL REPRESENTATIVES 2021 – 2022

POSITION	NAME	POSITION	NAME
ASC President	Erik Reese	Library	Danielle Kaprelian
ASC Vice President	Tiffany Pawluk	Life Sciences	Jazmir Hernandez Audrey Chen
ASC Secretary	Nicole Block	Mathematics	Marcos Enriquez Rena Petrello
ASC Treasurer	Ruth Bennington	Media Art / Comm Studies	Jenna Patronete Jamie Whittington- Studer
ACCESS	Jolie Herzig Silva Arzunyan	Performing Arts	Nathan Bowen
Athletics	Matt Crater Mike Stuart	Physics / Ast / Engr / CS	Chrystin Green Scarlet Relle
Behavioral Sciences	Dani Vieira Kari Meyers	Social Sciences	Matthew Morgan Susan Kinkella Rex Edwards
Business Administration	Josepha Baca Reet Sumal	Student Health Center	Allison Case Barton Silva Arzunyan
Chemistry / Earth Sciences	Roger Putnam Rob Keil	Visual Arts	Erika Lizée Cynthia Minet
Child Development	Cindy Sheaks- McGowan Shannon Coulter	World Languages	Perry Bennett Alejandra Valenzuela
Counseling	Chuck Brinkman Jodi Dickey	Part-time Faculty Representative	Felix Masci Dan Darby
EATM	Gary Wilson Brenda Woodhouse	AFT Representative (non-voting)	Hugo Hernandez
English / ESL / HUM	Sydney Sims Jerry Mansfield	CTE Liaison (non-voting)	
EOPS	Marnie Melendez Angie Rodriguez	GP Liaison (non-voting)	Traci Allen
Health Education / Kinesiology	Adam Black	Student Liaison (non-voting)	Priscilla Saerang
Health Sciences	Jamee Maxey	Committee Co-Chairs (non-voting)	