Transfer and Scholarship Essay Workshops 

 

 

               TRANSFER ESSAY WRITING WORKSHOPS (Drop-in)

 

Come to a Personal Statement Workshop (50 min. sessions) at the Writing Center

  • Explore the myths vs. the realities of the application essay
  • Understand expectations for content
  • Review topic prompts
  • Brainstorm and develop ideas for essay
  • Read sample essays and discuss strengths and weaknesses
  • Learn how to integrate these strategies into your essay:
    • Be honest – even if it hurts.
    • Be descriptive:
      • Use concrete language
      • Use active voice
    • Show don’t tell: Write the story—the experience–that reveals YOU.
    • If writing about something challenging in your life, show how you are overcoming or have resolved problems.

 

Expectations and Brainstorming

Developing and Revising

Drop-in Consultations

Tuesday, Sept. 26 at 10 am

Wednesday, Sept. 27 at 3 pm

Monday, Oct. 2 at 12 pm

Tuesday, Oct. 24 at 1 pm

 Thursday, Oct. 26 at 10 am

Tuesday, Oct. 10 at 10 am

Wednesday, Oct. 11 at 3 pm

Friday, Oct. 20 at 10am

Friday, Nov. 3 at 10 am

Tuesday, Nov. 7 at 1pm

Wednesday, Nov. 8 at 3 pm

Friday, Nov. 17, at 10 am

Wednesday, Nov. 29, at 10 am

Come to one or more workshops. Workshops are 50 minutes. Students are also welcome to book individual tutoring appointments to work on question responses and personal statements at moorparkcollege.edu/writingcenter