Academic Senate

Moorpark College Academic Senate consists of all full-time and part-time faculty.  The business of the Senate is conducted by the Senate Council and committees of the Senate.  The Senate meets every first, third, and fifth Tuesdays from 2:30-4pm in the A-138 Conference Room.  Guests are invited to attend and can make public comments at 2:30pm, when the meeting begins.

Academic Senate Statement of Faculty Ethics

The Senate's primary responsibilities are to make recommendations for policies in the following areas, as defined by Education Code Section 53200:

  1. Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
  2. Degree and certificate requirements
  3. Grading policies
  4. Educational program development
  5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  6. College governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes
  8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
  9. Processes for program review
  10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development
  11. Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon.

We adhere to the Moorpark College Mission Statement:

With a "students first" philosophy, Moorpark College empowers its diverse community of learners to complete their goals for academic transfer, basic skills, and career technical education. Moorpark College integrates instruction and student services, collaborates with industry and educational partners, and promotes a global perspective.

Academic Senate Council 2016-17

Academic Senate Council Executive Board

  • Nenagh Brown, President. (805) 378-1400 x1748
  • Nathan Bowen, Vice-President (805) 553-4682
  • Erik Reese, Secretary.  (805) 378-1488
  • Renee Butler, Treasurer. (805) 553-4726

Academic Senate Council department representatives

  1. ACCESS: Jolie Bernal / Silva Arzunyan
  2. Athletics: Vance Manakas / Mike Stuart
  3. Behavioral Sciences: Dani Vieira / Kari Meyers
  4. Business Administration: Reet Sumal / Ruth Bennington
  5. Chemistry / Earth Sciences: Tiffany Pawluk / Deanna Franke 
  6. Child Development: Cindy Sheaks-McGowan
  7. ​Comm Studies / Theater Arts / FTVM: John Loprieno / Rolland Petrello
  8. Counseling: Chuck Brinkman / Traci Allen
  9. English / ESL: Sydney Sims / Jerry Mansfield
  10. EATM: Gary Wilson / Cindy Wilson
  11. Health Education / Kinesiology: Remy McCarthy / Adam Black
  12. Health Sciences: Michelle Dieterich / Dalila Sankaran
  13. Library: Mary LaBarge
  14. Life Sciences: Jazmir Hernandez / Yana Bernatavichut
  15. Mathematics: Chris Copeland / Vahe Khachadoorian
  16. Music / Dance: Brandon Elliott / James Song
  17. Physics / Astronomy / Engineering: Ronald Wallingford / Scarlet Relle
  18. Social Sciences: Hugo Hernandez / Susan Kinkella / Rex Edwards
  19. Student Health Center: Sharon Manakas / Silva Arzunyan
  20. Visual & Applied Arts / Media Arts: Cynthia Minet
  21. World Languages: Helga Winkler / Alejandra Valenzuela
  22. Curriculum Chair (non-voting): Jerry Mansfield
  23. Associated Students Liaison: Ashley Avakian
  24. Part-Time Rep:
  25. EOPS: Marnie Melendez / Angie Rodriguez
  26. CTE Liaison (non-voting): Josepha Baca
  27. GP Liaison (non-voting):