Writing Center Calendar

During the fall, the Writing Center will help you review those important student success skills so you can stick to that saddle when the riding gets rough, such as time management and reading strategies, as well as punctuation and sentence structure. Some students are getting ready to ride out on the range, so they might want guidance in their personal statements for transfer applications.

Writing Center Workshops & Events for Fall 2014

 

Wednesday, Oct. 1 at 3 pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Expectations and brainstorming,

Wednesday, October 1, 4-5:30
The Write: Creative Writing Workshop

Thursday, Oct. 2 at 12 pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Expectations and brainstorming,

Tuesday, Oct. 7 at 10-10:50: 
Writing Workshops: Essay Structure

Tuesday, Oct. 14 at 10 am
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Developing and Revising,

Wednesday, Oct. 15 at 3 pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Developing and Revising,

Wednesday, October 15, 4-5:30
The Write: Creative Writing Workshop

Wednesday, October 15, 5:30pm
The Read (poetry reading, lectures, etc.)
Dr. Kathryn Adams: Creative Writing in Crisis/Conflict Zones

Thursday, Oct. 16 at 3-3:50: 
Writing Workshops: Essay Structure

Friday, Oct. 17 at 10am
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Developing and Revising,

Wed., Oct. 22 at 3-3:50:  
Writing Workshops: MLA Citation Format

Thursday, Oct. 23 at 10-10:50: 
Writing Workshops: MLA Citation Format

Tuesday, Oct. 28 at 2 pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Expectations and brainstorming,

Wednesday, Oct. 29 at 3 pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Expectations and brainstorming,

Wednesday, October 29, 4-5:30 pm
Scary Stories and Poems. Bring your favorite scary poem or story to share. Wear a costume!

Thursday, Oct. 30 at 12 pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Expectations and brainstorming,

Friday, Nov. 7 at 10 am
​Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Developing and Revising,

Tuesday, Nov. 11 at 2pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Developing and Revising,

Wednesday, Nov. 12 at 3 pm
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Developing and Revising,

Friday, Nov. 14, at 10 am
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Drop-in Consultations.

Tuesday Nov. 25, at 10 am
Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Drop-in Consultations.

 

* * *

Workshops may be added to this calendar--please check back for updates.

All workshops are held in LLR 318. No appointment necessary, and a certificate will be given out at the end of the workshop