Writing Center Workshops & Events

The Writing Center will help you review those important student success skills so you can stick to that saddle when the riding gets rough, such as time management and reading strategies, as well as punctuation and sentence structure. Some students are getting ready to ride out on the range, so they might want guidance in their personal statements for transfer applications. 

The Write: Creative Writing Workshop -- 1st and 3rd Wednesdays from 3-4:00 
 

Students are also welcome to make an appointment with a tutor to develop and revise the personal statement.

Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Expectations and brainstorming

  • Tuesday, Sept. 29 at 10 am
  • Wednesday, Sept. 30 at 3 pm
  • Thursday, Oct. 1 at 12 pm
  • Tuesday, Oct. 27 at 2 pm
  • Wednesday, Oct. 28 at 3 pm
  • Thursday, Oct. 29 at 12 pm

Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Developing and Revising

  • Tuesday, Oct. 13 at 10 am
  • Wednesday, Oct. 14 at 3 pm
  • Friday, Oct. 16 at 10 am
  • Friday, Nov. 6 at 10 am
  • Tuesday, Nov. 10 at 2pm
  • Wednesday, Nov. 11 at 3 pm

Personal Statement / Transfer Essays:  Drop-in Consultations 

  • Friday, Nov. 13, at 10 am
  • Tuesday Nov. 24, at 10 am


 Seven Secrets of College Success Workshop Series

  •  Tuesday, Aug. 25, 1 pm          Understand College Culture
  • Wednesday, Sept. 2, 1 pm       Read for  Success
  • Tuesday, Sept. 8, 12 pm          Take Effective Notes 
  • Wednesday, Sept. 16, 12 pm    Write for College
  • Tuesday, Sept. 22, 1 pm          Create Study Materials
  • Wednesday, Sept. 30, 1 pm      Use Study Materials
  • Tuesday, Oct. 6, 12 pm            Prepare for the Test

* * *

Workshops may be added to this calendar--please check back for updates.

All workshops are held in LLR 318. No appointment necessary, and a certificate will be given out at the end of the workshop