Writing Center Workshops & Events


 

 

The Writing Center will help you review those important student success skills so you can stick to that   saddle when the riding gets rough, such as time management and reading strategies, as well as punctuation and sentence structure. Some students are getting ready to ride out on the range, so they might want guidance in their personal statements for transfer applications. 

 Students are also welcome to make an appointment with a tutor to develop and revise the personal statement.

 

 

Secrets of College Success Workshop Series

  • Wednesday Workshops held in LLR 318
  • All workshops 1:00 pm ~ 1:45 pm
  • Sept. 21  Read for Success
  • Oct. 5     Take Effective Notes
  • Oct. 12    Write for College     
  • Oct. 19    Prepare for the Test

The Write Presents: The Lost Art of Letter Writing

  • Look for our table on Sept. 15 during the Free Speech event, 11 am-1 pm on the Campus Quad!
  • Our spring and summer Letter Write-In events at the Writing Center were very popular.
  • Check out our flyer! 
  • Check out our Facebook page, Moorpark College Writing Center, with photos of the event!

Common Application Personal Statement / UC Transfer Personal Insight Questions: Workshop Series

Common Application Personal Statement / UC Transfer Personal Insight Questions:  Expectations and Brainstorming

  • Pick up the new worksheet for UC Personal Insight questions
  • Make an appointment with a tutor to start brainstorming and outlining your questions
  • Or come to one of our workshops: 
    • Tuesday, Sept. 27 at 10 am
    • Wednesday, Sept. 28 at 3 pm
    • Monday, Oct. 3 at 12 pm
    • Tuesday, Oct. 25 at 1 pm
    •  Thursday, Oct. 27 at 10 am

Common Application Personal Statement / UC Transfer Personal Insight Questions:  Developing and Revising

  • Make an appointment with a tutor to develop and revise your personal insight responses and Common Application personal statement 
  • Or come to one of our workshops: 
    • Tuesday, Oct. 11 at 10 am
    • Wednesday, Oct. 12 at 3 pm
    • Friday, Oct. 21 at 10 am
    • Friday, Nov. 4 at 10 am
    • Tuesday, Nov. 8 at 1pm
    • Wednesday, Nov. 9 at 3 pm

Common Application Personal Statement / UC Transfer Personal Insight Questions:  Drop-in Consultations 

  • Friday, Nov. 18, at 10 am
  • Wednesday, Nov. 23, at 10 am