Film/Television/Media (FTVM)

Program Purpose: Students who complete Film/TV/Media courses will transform language and concepts into fictional and non-fictional visualizations, and will be able to promote the critical analysis of mass communications through historical, cultural and business perspectives.

This major is designed for students who plan professional or academic careers in educational or commercial radio, television, or film production. The major provides training that leads to positions in management or creative capacities or in related scholarly areas. Study is directed toward developing competence in specific areas of the mass media professions and providing a general knowledge of mass communication theory.


Department Chair

Rolland Petrello
rpetrello@vcccd.edu
(805) 378-1469 | PA-142

Faculty and Staff

Candice Larson
FTVM Faculty
clarson@vcccd.edu
(805) 553-4843 | COM-104

Nicole Block
FTVM Faculty
nblock@vcccd.edu
COM-105

Jason Beaton​
Radio and Audio Faculty
jbeaton@vcccd.edu

Michael Grimes
TV/Radio Production Specialist | Faculty
mgrimes@vcccd.edu
(805) 378-1490 | COM-137


Performing Arts and Student Life Division Office

Dean: Luis A. Gonzalez, Ed.D. | (lgonzalez@vcccd.edu)

Division Office: MCDivisiona@vcccd.edu | PA - 141 | (805) 378-1408


Counselors

Jodi Dickey and Michelle Reina

Want to see students FTVM video productions or listen to KMCJ Radio?

Click to visit the Department Homepage