Transfer and Scholarship Essay Workshops 

 

               TRANSFER ESSAY WRITING WORKSHOPS (Drop-in)

 

Come to a Personal Statement Workshop (50 min. sessions) at the Writing Center

  • Explore the myths vs. the realities of the application essays
  • Understand expectations for content
  • Review topic prompts
  • Brainstorm and develop ideas for essays
  • Read sample essays and discuss strengths and weaknesses
  • Learn how to integrate these strategies into your essays:
    • Be honest – even if it hurts.
    • Be descriptive:
      • Use concrete language
      • Use active voice
    • Show don’t tell: Write the story—the experience–that reveals YOU.
    • If writing about something challenging in your life, show how you are overcoming or have resolved problems.

 

TRANSFER ESSAY WRITING WORKSHOPS (Drop-in)

 

Drop-in: Expectations and Brainstorming/Developing and Revising

 

Tuesday, Sept. 25 at 10 am

Wednesday, Sept. 26 at 4 pm

Monday, Oct. 1 at 12 pm

Tuesday, Oct. 9 at 10 am

Friday, Oct 19 at 10 am

Tuesday, Oct. 23 at 1 pm

 

Drop-in: Expectations and Brainstorming/Developing and Revising

 

Friday, Nov. 2 at 10 am

Tuesday, Nov. 6 at 1pm

Wednesday, Nov. 7 at 4 pm

 

Last chance! Drop-in

consultations

 

 

Friday, Nov. 16, at 10 am

Wednesday, Nov. 28, at 10 am

 

 


Come to one or more workshops. Workshops are 50 minutes. Students are also welcome to book individual tutoring appointments to work on question responses and personal statements at moorparkcollege.edu/writingcenter