Music

The Moorpark College Music Department offers a wide variety of classes designed for both the aspiring professional musician who wishes to continue studies at the university level and the knowledgeable amateur eager to understand and appreciate the important role music occupies in this society.  Committed to preparing our students for the study and performance of music from the past and shaping the music of the future, the Music Department offers a vast and diverse array of courses from Classical Vocal Techniques to Electronic Music.  No matter where you are or where you want to be on your musical journey, the Music Department has a course and program for you. 

Spring 2019 Music Major Auditions: Friday, January 11, 2019.  Click here to submit your application!


Degrees and Certificates Offered

Associate in Arts in Music for Transfer Degree (AA-T) | Time to Complete: 2 years | Download Program of Study

The Associate in Arts Degree in Music for Transfer Degree (AA-T in Music) is intended for students who plan to transfer and complete a Bachelor's degree in General Music or equivalent major at a CSU campus. Students completing the AA-T in Music are guaranteed admission to the CSU system, but not necessarily to a particular CSU campus or major of their choice. Students should consult with a counselor for more information on university admission and transfer requirements, as this AA-T in Music may not be the best option for students intending to transfer to a particular CSU campus or to a college or university that is not part of the CSU system.

Students declared as a Music Major intending to complete the AA-T in Music must apply and audition for the Applied Music course (MUS M30).  Applied Music is individual instruction on your voice or instrument of proficiency and must be taken four consecutive semesters in order to complete the degree.  Click here to submit your application.  If you have any questions about Applied Music, please contact Professor Brandon Elliott (belliott@vcccd.edu). 

Certificate of Achievement in Music Technology (COA) | Time to Complete: 1 year | Download Program of Study

The Music Technology Certificate of Achievement is designed for students seeking a career as a professional musician. It will better prepare a student to secure a job in the music industry by building skills related to music technology. After successfully completing this certificate a student could be hired as a composer, recording artist, music production assistant, assistant audio engineer, audio technician, assistant music supervisor, or artists & repertoire (A&R) assistant.


Faculty and Staff

The Music Department at Moorpark College boats a highly regarded faculty of teacher-artists, scholars, and practitioners that embody the college's "students first" philosophy.  Whether you are taking a Music Appreciation course, or participating in our rigorous Applied Music studies, you will learn among excellent faculty.

Full Time Faculty

Nathan Bowen Director of Music Theory & Technology nbowen@vcccd.edu
Brandon Elliott Director of Choral & Vocal Activities belliott@vcccd.edu
James Song Director of Instrumental Activities jsong@vcccd.edu

Adjunct Music Theory & Technology Faculty

Edward Demmond Music Appreciation edemmond@vcccd.edu
Virginia Figueiredo Music Appreciation vfigueiredo@vcccd.edu
Cristina Lord Music Technology & Songwriting clord@vcccd.edu
Tony Wardzinski Music Theory & Musicianship awardzinsky@vcccd.edu

Adjunct Choral & Vocal Faculty

Marilyn Anderson Vocal Techniques & Vocal Performance marilynanderson@vcccd.edu
Stephanie Aston Vocal Performance saston@vcccd.edu
Kevin Fukagawa Collaborative Pianist kevin_fukagawa1@vcccd.edu

Adjunct Instrumental Faculty

Rachel Beetz Flute Performance rbeetz@vcccd.edu
Michael Bernard Oboe Performance mbernard@vcccd.edu
Jennifer Bilman French Horn Performance jennifer_bilman1@vcccd.edu
Ron Borczon Classical Guitar Performance ronald_borczon@vcccd.edu
Jordan Charnofsky Classical Guitar Performance jcharnofsky@vcccd.edu
Mona DeCesare Piano Performance mdecesare@vcccd.edu
Diane Gilbert Viola Performance diane_gilbert@vcccd.edu
Brendan McMullin Wind & Jazz Ensemble Director bmcmullin@vcccd.edu
Philip Pacier Trumpet Performance ppacier@vcccd.edu
Jeong-ah Ryu Piano Performance  jryu@vcccd.edu
Ashley Walters Cello Performance awalters@vcccd.edu
Hui Wu Piano Performance hwu@vcccd.edu

 


Performing Arts and Student Engagement Division Office

Dean: Jennifer Kalfsbeek-Goetz, Ph.D. | (jkgoetz@vcccd.edu)

Division Office: MCdivision125@vcccd.edu | PA - 101 | (805) 553-4121

Department Chair: John Loprieno | (jloprieno@vcccd.edu) | PA - 146 | (805) 378-1469


Counselors & Faculty Advisors 

Jodi Dickey, Counselor | FH 120 | (805) 553-4615 | jdickey@vcccd.edu

Brandon Elliott, Music Faculty Advisor | M 120 | (805) 553-4168 | belliott@vcccd.edu | Book Appointment Here!

2018 Moorpark College to CSU Transfer Infographic (Music AA-T)

Full Catalog Description / Degree Information