WORKSHOPS

Career Transfer Center Workshop Schedule
(continually updated-scroll down)

--Contact the Career Transfer Center to RSVP to the following workshops--


Upcoming Fall 2019 Workshops

--Choosing a Major Workshop--(please check back)
Learn about various major options based upon MBTI/Strong Assessments.  Students must attend both workshops
(Part 1 & Part 2) in order to review results.

Date

Day

Time

Location

Additional Information

8/20/19 Tues 5:00-6:00pm FH 117 Workshop-Part 1 (must attend Part 1 & Part 2).  RSVP in the CTC for a spot.
8/27/19 Tues 5:00-6:00pm FH 117 Workshop-Part 2 (RSVP in the CTC for your spot).
         
10/21/19 Mon 4:00-5:00pm FH 117 Workshop-Part 1 (Must attend Part 1 & Part 2). RSVP in the CTC for a spot. 
10/28/19 Mon 4:00-5:00pm FH 117 Workshop-Part 2 (RSVP in the CTC for your spot).
         
11/13/19 Weds 1:00-2:00pm FH 117 Workshop-Part 1 (Must attend Part 1 & Part 2). RSVP in the CTC for a spot.
11/20/19 Weds 1:00-2:00pm FH 117 Workshop-Part 2 (RSVP in the CTC for your spot).
 

checklist gray image

--Resume Building Workshop--
Please check the Career Services link for more information

Learn how to write an effective resume that enhances your education and work experience, while tailoring your transferable knowledge, skills, and abilities.
Get an overview and tips on format, required and optional sections, bullets, and more.
Students will receive assistance with resume and cover letter writing, interview preparation, and tips on success in the workplace.

Date Day Time Location Additional Information
9/10/19 Tuesday 1:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
9/17/19 Tuesday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
9/19/19 Thursday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
9/24/19 Tuesday 1:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
10/2/19 Wednesday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
10/7/19 Monday 1:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
10/14/19 Wednesday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
10/21/19 Monday 1:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
10/30/19 Wednesday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
11/5/19 Tuesday 1:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
11/7/19 Thursday 12:00pm Career Corner  RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
11/11/19 Monday 1:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
11/21/19 Wednesday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
11/28/19 Thursday 11:00am Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
12/3/19 Tuesday 1:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
12/11/19 Wednesday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
12/17/19 Tuesday 12:00pm Career Corner RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
         

 

--Transfer BASICS--Coming this Fall!
These workshops are for First Year Students interested in learning about the transfer process.
Must have completed the online Orientation or COUN M03 course prior to attending this workshop.  
Student must RSVP for all workshops in the Career Transfer Center (CTC) located in Fountain Hall 110.  

 

  • Review of general Transfer requirements for the UC/CSU/private/out-of-state as needed
  • ​Tips for starting the transfer process
  • Overview of programs such as TAP/TAG
  • Associate Degrees for Transfer (ADT)
  • General Education Patterns
  • Major Preparation
  • Important Deadlines
Date Day Time Location Information
8/12/19 Monday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)
         
9/17/19 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 RSVP in the CTC (FH 110)

--CSU Application Review for SPRING 2020--
These are only for those students interested and eligible to transfer for Spring 2020 to the CSU system. Not all CSU's accept Spring transfers.  Please check CalStateApply for updated information!

Date Day Time Location Information
8/12/2019 Monday 11:00am-12:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
8/13/2019 Tuesday 2:00-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
8/21/2019 Wednesday 1:00-2:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
8/22/2019 Thursday 9:00-10:00am FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
8/26/2019 Monday 10:00-11:00am FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)

--CSU Application Review for FALL 2020 starts in October 2019!!!--

Date Day Time Location Information
10/2/2019 Wednesday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
10/9/2019 Wednesday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
10/15/2019 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
10/16/2019 Wednesday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
10/22/2019 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
10/23/2019 Wednesday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
10/29/2019 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
10/30/2019 Wednesday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/6/2019 Wednesday 11:00am-12:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/18/2019 Monday 12:00pm-1:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/19/2019 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
         


--UC & CSU Application Review--

Date Day Time Location Information
11/5/19 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/6/19 Wednesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/12/19 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/13/19 Wednesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/15/19 Friday 10:00am-11:00am FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/19/19 Tuesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/20/19 Wednesday 2:00pm-3:00pm FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
11/22/19 Friday 10:00am-11:00am FH 117 Please RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)


UC Berkeley & UC Davis 2:00pm-3:00pm Fountain Hall 117 RSVP in the Career Transfer Center (FH 110)
UC Irvine 1:15pm-3:15pm FH 110 RSVP in the Career Transfer Center for appointment time

TAG-TRANSFER ADMISSION GUARANTEE (UC)}

Six UC campuses offer the Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG) program for California community college students who meet specific requirements.  By participating in TAG, you may receive early review of your academic records, early admission notification and specific guidance about major preparation and general education coursework.  Keep in mind: TAG applications are due Sept. 30, but you can only apply for a TAG at one campus. To keep your options open, apply to other UC campuses during the regular application cycle (Nov. 1-30).

Date Day Time Location Information
9/10/2019 Tuesday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
9/16/2019 Monday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
9/23/2019 Monday 1:00pm-2:00pm FH 117 RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)
9/26/2019 Thursday 10:00am-11:00am FH 117 RSVP in FH 110 (CTC)

 

TRANSFER ESSAY WRITING WORKSHOPS (FOR COLLEGE APPLICATIONS)

Check out the updates below:
Transfer Essay Workshops (College Personal Statement)
 available in the Writing Center in LLR 318--Come to one or more workshops.
Students are also welcome to book individual tutoring appointments to work on personal statements at moorparkcollege.edu/writingcenter

​Personal Statement/ Personal Insight Questions Transfer Workshop
This workshop is available in the Writing Center in LLR 318 to help students review topic prompts, brainstorm and develop ideas for essay and read sample essays.
See specific sessions here for available dates and times.  Workshops are 50 minutes.  Students are also welcome to book individual tutoring appointments to work on personal statements at moorparkcollege.edu/writingcenter

Date Day Time Location Information
9/24/19 Tuesday 10:00am LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
9/25/19 Wednesday 4:00pm LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
9/30/19 Monday 12pm LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
10/8/19 Tuesday 10am LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
10/18/19 Friday 10am LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
10/22/19 Tuesday 1pm LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
11/8/19 Friday 10am LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
11/12/19 Tuesday 1:00pm LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
11/13/19 Wednesday 4:00pm LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Drop-in: Expectations & Brainstorming/Developing & Revising)
11/15/19 Friday 10am LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Last Chance! Drop-in consultations)
11/20/19 Wednesday 12pm LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Last Chance! Drop-in consultations)
11/26/19 Tuesday 3pm LLR-Writing Center Library-3rd Floor (Last Chance! Drop-in consultations)

 


Financial Aid Workshops Check with the Financial Aid Office for specific workshops geared towards Transfer Students trying to arrange financial aid at 4 year schools

Check back for future workshops!
For more information contact:
Career Transfer Center-FH 110
Phone: (805) 378-1536