Student Clubs and Organizations

student club is defined as a group of students with a common social, educational, social justice, religious or cultural purpose. Because the management of the club is intended to be a student learning experience, the day-to-day functions of the club are carried out by student members with oversight and mentorship from an advisor.

An organization is a group of students whose central purpose or cause is linked closely to or affiliated with an external organization. Organizations may have additional chartering or renewal requirements beyond the College chartering requirements. Examples of organizations include honors societies, sports clubs, e-sports leagues, or politically affiliated groups. 

There are dozens of active student-led clubs and organizations on campus. Scroll down to learn more. Students are encouraged to reach out to a club president or advisor to learn about the club's upcoming meetings and activities for the semester. Also, new clubs form throughout the year, so be sure to check back for new opportunities!

The below list was last updated: November 21, 2022
 

A

A2MEND (African American Men Education Networking and Development)

Open to all students who wish to assist African Americans in their journey to reach academic success through mentorship, community, and brotherhood and sisterhood.

  • Student President: INFORMATION FORTHCOMING - CONTACT ADVISOR FOR DETAILS
  • Advisor: Johnny Conley (jconley@vcccd.edu)
America's Teaching Zoo, AAZK Student Chapter

Open to all EATM students and all students interested in the campus zoo.

B

Business Student Association (BSA)

Open to all students interested in the field of business.

  • Student President: Tara Avetisian (tara_avetisian1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Timothy Weaver (tweaver@vcccd.edu)

C

Chemistry Club

Open to all students interested in learning about chemistry.

  • Student President: Azure Heirshberg (azure_herishberg1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Steve Joiner (csjoiner@vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Deanna Franke(dfranke@vcccd.edu)
Child Development Club / Educational Child Organization

Open to all students interested in child development and early childhood education. 

  • Student President: Michelle Uribe (michelle_uribe2@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Angie Gomez (agomez@vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Shannon Coulter (scoulter@vcccd.edu)
Circle K International

Open to all students interested in service, service learning, and giving back to their community.

Coalition Z

Open to all students interested in civic engagement and left-leaning political movements.

D

Dance Club

All MC students interested in learning dance techniques and developing dance routines are welcome!

  • Student President: Seleyna Figueroa (seleyna_figueroa1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Beth Megill (bmegill@vcccd.edu)
Delta Alpha Pi (DAPi)

Delta Alpha Pi is an academic honor society, recognizing high-achieving students with disabilities.

  • Student President: Benjamin Berry (benjamin_berry1@my.vcccd.edu)

  • Advisor: Jolie Herzig (jherzig@vcccd.edu)

E

Educational Child Organization (Child Development Club)

Open to all students interested in child development and early childhood education. 

  • Student President: Michelle Uribe (michelle_uribe2@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Angie Gomez (agomez@vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Shannon Coulter (scoulter@vcccd.edu)
Engineering Club

Open to all students interested in the field of engineering.

  • Club President: Avadi Seneviratne (Avadi_Seneviratne1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Dr. Scarlet Relle (srelle@vcccd.edu)
Enthusiastic Programmers

Open to all students interested in hackathons and computer science.

  • Club President: Shihou Miyake (enthusiasticprogrammersclub@gmail.com)
  • Advisor: Esmaail Nikjeh (enikjeh@vcccd.edu)
Esports Club

Open to all students interested in competitive multiplayer video games.

  • Club President: Nathalie Maciel (nathalie_maciel1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Johnathan Bair (jbair@vcccd.edu)

F

Film Club

Open to those interested in film, and film and media production.

  • President: Yasser Daychoum (yasser_daychoum1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Nicole Block (nblock@vcccd.edu)
Forensics Team (Speech and Debate)

Students interested in persuasive argumentation, speech writing, or competitive performance/acting (known as Oral Interpretation of Literature) are welcome to join! Students must enroll in COMM M10A - Forensics. More information available on the Forensics webpage.

Future Animal Professionals

Ideal for students enrolled in the Exotic Animal Training and Management (EATM) Program.

Future Rad Techs

Ideal for students enrolled in the Radiology program.

  • Club President: Diana Gonzalez (diana_gonzalez15@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Robert Darwin (rdarwin@vcccd.edu)

G

Game Design Club (MC-GDC)

Aims to enrich the knowledge of those who are interested in the pursuit of the inner processes of designing games and learning more about the games industry at large.

  • Club president: Vincent Hébert (vincent_hebert1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Johnathan Bair (jbair@vcccd.edu)
Girls Who Code

Anyone interested in learning coding and programming is welcome.

Global Ambassadors (GloAm)

Global Ambassadors seeks to bring international students together. Club is welcome to all Moorpark College students.

H

Honors Club

Open to all students interested in honors courses.

  • Club president: Melissa Moore (melissa_moore9@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Nathan Bowen (nbowen@vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Daniel Aguilar (daguilar@vcccd.edu)

I

InterVarsity Christian Fellowship

The purpose of IVC is to establish and advance witness communities of students and faculty who follow Jesus Christ as savior and Lord. The club is dedicated to growing in love for God, God's word, God's people of every ethnicity and culture, and God's purpose in the world.

  • Club President: Esteban Perez (esteban_perez1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Beth Gillis-Smith (egillissmith@vcccd.edu)

J

Jewish Club

The Jewish Club brings together Jewish and non-Jewish students alike who are interested in the Jewish faith.

K

Contact ASMCStudentOrgs@vcccd.edu to learn how to start a club.

L

Lacrosse Club

The Moorpark College Lacrosse Club aims to promote the game of lacrosse while giving young adults the ability to compete at the collegiate level.

  • Club President: George Li (george_li1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Matt Crater (mcrater@vcccd.edu)
Latter-Day Saint Student Association (LDSSA)

The purpose of the LDSSA is to help college students stay closely affiliated with the Church, succeed in their studies, and achieve a balanced life while on campus.

  • Club President: Katie Matthews (katherine_matthews3@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Nathan Bowen (nbowen@vcccd.edu)
Literary Criticism Club

This club seeks to create a community of people interested in the interpretation, discussion, and criticism of all literature, and to foster support for original student compositions.

  • Club President: Henry Cohen (henry_cohen1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Jeremy Kaye (jkaye@vcccd.edu)

M

Men's Beach Volleyball Club

Open to all students who enjoy playing competitive volleyball on sand courts.

  • Club President: Dakota Jordan Deuter (dakota_jordandeuter1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Aaron Hedland (aaron_hedland1@vcccd.edu)
Moorpark College Student Nurses Association (MCSNA)

Open to all or prospective nursing students or any students who want to engage in the nursing community.

  • Club President: James Gallant (james_gallant1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Michelle Dieterich (mdieterich@vcccd.edu@vcccd.edu)
Club of Music

Open to all students interested in learning about or playing music.

Muslim Student Association

Open to all students observing the Muslim faith or interested in learning about and with the Moorpark College Muslim community.

  • Club President: Zain Gulshad (zain_gulshad1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Loay Alnaji (lalnaji@vcccd.edu)

N

Nature's Finest club

Open to all students passionate about gardening, the environment, and the outdoors.

O

Contact ASMCStudentOrgs@vcccd.edu to learn how to start a club.

P

Persian Club

Open to all students interested in bringing together and learning from and with the Persian community of Moorpark College, celebrating Persian culture and traditions.

  • Club President: Imaan Soltanalipour (imaan_soltanalipour1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: FORTHCOMING 
Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)

PTK is an honors society specifically for community college students. Participation in the regional and national chapters of PTK is by invitation only and is based on students' grade point average (GPA) and unit count.

All students interested in attending local PTK meetings are welcome.

  • Advisor: Raul Torres (raul_torres6@vcccd.edu)
Political Review

Open to all students interested in engaging in political conversations against opposing opinions in a respectful and considerate manner.

Pre-Med Club

A club for students who are interested in applying to medical school and/or pursuing a career in medicine.

President's Leadership Forum

All current students are eligible to apply in Fall to participate in this year-long student leadership forum. Applications for the 2022-2023 year are due August 31, 2022 to Linda Resendiz (email below).

Psychology Club

Open to all students interested in psychology.

  • Club President: Kylie Sherman (kylie_sherman1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Julie Campbell (jcampbell@vcccd.edu)
Public Relations Club

Open to all students interested in the field of public relations.

Q

Contact ASMCStudentOrgs@vcccd.edu to learn how to start a club.

R

Research in Biology Club

Open to all those interested in biological research.

  • Student President: Nadine Hassanieh (nadine_hassanieh1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Sean Wilcox (swilcox@vcccd.edu)

S

SPACE Club

All students who interested in astronomy, physics, and space are welcome.

Spectrum Club

Spectrum invites LGBTQIA+ students to join its community.

  • President: Timothy Crowell (timothy_crowell1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Ashley Barbier (abarbier@vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Danielle Viera (dvieira@vcccd.edu)
Sustainability Committee (ASSC)

All students who are interested in helping Moorpark College improve its environmental footprint are welcome to join the Associated Students Sustainability Committee, ASSC.

T

TropiCali Brasil

This organization aims to assist MC students from Brazil or engage students who are interested in learning more about the Brazilian culture and community.

  • President: Yasser Daychoum (yasser_daychoum1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Claudia Wilroy (cwilroy@vcccd.edu)

U

Contact ASMCStudentOrgs@vcccd.edu to learn how to start a club.

V

Contact ASMCStudentOrgs@vcccd.edu to learn how to start a club.

W

Wizard's Club

Open to all students interested in Dungeons and Dragons and other gameplay.

  • President: Derek Ng (derek_ng1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Matt Cassaro (matt_cassaro@vcccd.edu)
Women in Engineering, Math, and Science (WEMS)

Open to all students interested in the STEM fields.

  • President: Pamela Herrera Rodriguez (pamela_herrerarodri1@my.vcccd.edu)
  • Advisor: Beth Miller (bmiller@vcccd.edu)

X

Contact ASMCStudentOrgs@vcccd.edu to learn how to start a club.

Y

Young Americans for Freedom

An organization for young conservatives' ideals and principles to be discussed and shared.

Z

Contact ASMCStudentOrgs@vcccd.edu to learn how to start a club.